TO ORDER: Price, including shipping, is $18
for one CD, $35 for both. Please send your
name, address, title of CD desired, and a
check or money order payable to
Heartstrings to: Nancy Downie
20074 SW 55th Terrace
Tualatin, OR 97062-6871

Encouraged by the response to our first CD (see below, on this page), we set out to create a Christmas album, one that was traditional, yet uniquely our own. Like our initial offering, it was made in cooperation with four Oregon historical sites: Aurora Colony Historical Society, Champoeg State Heritage Area, End of the Oregon Trail Visitor Center, and Philip Foster Farm. Christmas is a magical season at these wonderful places. Each offers special holiday programs and activities, which are described in the liner notes.

Featured on this recording are hammered dulcimer, guitar, violin, string bass, vocals, and the hauntingly beautiful Native American flutes. The CD includes many Yuletide favorites of the 19th Century, in arrangements we think you will enjoy.



  1. Joy to the World
  2. In the Bleak Midwinter
  3. Still, Still, Still
  4. Bring a Torch, Jeannette, Isabella
  5. Fum Fum Fum/Pat a Pan
  6. Coventry Carol
  7. The First Nowell/Angels We Have Heard on High
  8. The Story (Away in a Manger)
  9. O Come O Come Emanuel
  10. Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring
  11. The Holly and The Ivy
  12. 'Twas in the Moon of Wintertime
  13. It Came Upon the Midnight Clear/O Come All Ye Faithful
  14. O Holy Night
  15. Little Drummer Boy
  16. Go Tell It on the Mountain
  17. I Wonder as I Wander
  18. Noel Nouvelet
  19. What Child is This?
  20. Silent Night
  21. We Wish You a Merry Christmas


Heartstrings' first full-length album, largely comprised of music of the Oregon Trail, grew out of our performances at Oregon historical venues and was produced in cooperation with four historical organizations: Aurora Colony Historical Society, Champoeg State Heritage Area, Clackamas Heritage Partners, and Philip Foster Farm. The cover incorporates eye-catching photos of properties preserved and interpreted by these organizations and each group tells its story in the liner notes, making the album a nice memento for anyone with an interest in Oregon history.

Through the magic of multi-tracking, the CD features hammered dulcimer, guitar, violin, flute, whistle, string bass, and vocals. It includes arrangements of some of Cal Scott’s tunes from the Bound for Oregon soundtrack as well as many traditional favorites.



  1. La Bastringue/St. Anne's Reel/Mouth of the Tobique
  2. Liza Jane
  3. My Old Kentucky Home, Good Night!
  4. Oh! Susanna
  5. The Ashgrove
  6. Bound for the Promised Land/One More River/McLoughlin's Reel
  7. Jenny Lind Polka/The Yellow Rose of Texas
  8. Red Haired Boy/Cold Frosty Morn
  9. The Bonnie Blue Flag/Tenting Tonight on the Old Campground/Battle Cry of Freedom
  10. Shenandoah/River
  11. The Boatmen's Dance
  12. January Waltz
  13. Cherokee Shuffle
  14. The Girl I Left Behind Me/Red Wing
  15. Home on the Range
  16. Fisher's Hornpipe